July 7, 2021


Kensington, MD. On Wednesday, July 7, 2021, the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County (HOC) celebrated the winners of the 2021 Tony S. Davis Memorial Scholarship. Eleven distinguished high school graduates from HOC communities took home $15,000 in awards.

Established shortly after HOC staff member Tony Davis was tragically killed in 2000 while defending the residents in his community, the Tony S. Davis Memorial Scholarship celebrates the spirit of public service which he embodied. Mr. Davis worked tirelessly to improve the lives of HOC customers and served as a role model to many. These eleven college-bound scholarship winners exhibit the same passion for making a difference in their own communities.

“HOC is proud to celebrate excellence in our communities, as exemplified by the winners of the Tony S. Davis Memorial Scholarship,” said HOC Board Chair Roy Priest. “Stable, community-connected housing acts as a cornerstone in the foundation of the lives of the families we serve, but we know that it takes building blocks beyond just housing to lift people up. Making small but meaningful investments in our youth through scholarships like this one help students rise to meet their aspirations. These rising college freshmen are already on their way.”

“It takes great wisdom and an incredible amount of courage for these young people to decide to embark on this journey – to see a future for themselves that transcends the barriers set before them by circumstance,” said HOC Commissioner Jackie Simon. “I am continually in awe of the excellence exhibited by our scholarship winners, and truly humbled that HOC can play a small part in helping them write their own story and reach their goals.”

The following scholarship winners will be attending colleges and universities across the country in the Fall: Yvette Cook (Radford University), K’lor Simms (University of Maryland), Deshaun Ejiogu (Harvard College), John Dowdell (Hood College), Alayah Brunson (Towson University), Maryam King (Georgia State University). Asia Nuchurch (Cornell University), Xavier Simms (McDaniel College). Deana Wright (West Virginia University), Laurenne Yomi Mvete (Syracuse University), and Najah Alfaro (George Mason University).


About the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County (HOC)

The Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County provides affordable housing and supportive services that enhance the lives of low- and moderate-income families and individuals. HOC is a property owner and operator, and a vertically-integrated developer, focusing on three things: getting people housed, keeping people housed, and helping customers reach their fullest potential. HOC serves more than 15,000 Montgomery County residents, owns more than 8,000 rental units, and provides assistance to more than 7,000 low-income households – many of whom are seniors and persons with disabilities – through the Housing Choice Voucher program.



This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.